The group’s founder and first President was the late Dr Manju Goel. It was formed in 1997 and was named SAWI (South Asia Women of Indian Origin). The name was changed to SD Nari in 2008 under the leadership of the then president, Uma Lakshman. SAWI was formed with a group of professional, dynamic, and dedicated women. The women’s association was formally inaugurated on March 8, 1997 by Indian ambassador Shyamala Cowsik in Rancho Santa Fe, CA.  The event was attended by 115 members.

Founding committee members include Dr. Divya Kakaiya, Dr Huma Ahmed Ghosh, Neelu Bhardwaj, Anasuya Pyne, Rajshree Mudaliar, Dr. Meera Kumar.

Past presidents

Dr. Manju Goel (Late)

Rajshree Mudaliar

Sneh Bansal

Devi Mannath

Uma Lakshman

Dr. Divya Kakaiya

Sneh Agarwal

Jyoti Bisariya

Anu Kumar